College Leadership

Contact the College

Administrators for College of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences at UMass Lowell, as well as department contacts, are listed below.


Dean of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Luis M. Falcón, Ph.D.
820 Broadway St., Lowell, MA 01854 
Email: Luis_Falcon@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3843

  • Tenure and promotion
  • Renewals/non-renewal of faculty
  • Faculty evaluations and merit
  • Faculty disciplinary matters

Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Andy Harris, Ph.D.  
Email: Andrew_Harris@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3978

  • Faculty research support, grants, and infrastructure
  • Student research initiatives
  • Research centers
  • Funding requests (travel, events, etc.)

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Julie Nash, Ph.D.
Email: Julie_Nash@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-4191

  • Lecturers (searches, service roles, teaching)
  • Teaching-related administrative issues
  • Honors Program
  • Co-ops and internships

Assistant Dean of FAHSS Academic Programs

Francis Talty, Ph.D. 
Email: Francis_Talty@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-4328

  • Undeclared Liberal Arts students – advising and supervision of advisors
  • Other advising-related matters
  • First-year seminar
  • Adjunct management

Grant & Contract Administrator

Andrew Dewing
Email: Andrew_Dewing@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-5989

  • Grant proposal development
  • Award set up and management
  • Liaison with sponsors
  • Funding opportunities research

Director of Enrollment and Student Success

Karen Humphrey-Johnson, M.A. 
Email: Karen_HumphreyJohnson@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-2105

  • Admissions: recruitment and events
  • Parent Communications and Concerns
  • Follow-up with suspended students
  • Student Advising

College Communications Coordinator

Shaima Ragab, M.A.
Email: Shaima_Ragab@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-5344

  • Web Communications
  • Social Media
  • Special Events
  • Media Relations

Associate to the Dean of FAHSS

Robyn Lessard
Email: Robyn_Lessard@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3842

  • College Staff management and oversight
  • Department space/facilities
  • Program budgets
  • Coordinate Deans' calendars

Budget Manager

Alice Da Silva
Email: Alice_DaSilva@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3854

  • Reimbursements
  • Purchasing
  • GTAs and GRAs contracts
  • Coordinate Deans' calendars

 Department

Department Chair E-mail
Art & Design Jehanne-Marie Gavarini JehanneMarie_Gavarini@uml.edu
Criminology & Criminal Justice (School of) April Pattavina
Economics Michael Carter Michael_Carter@uml.edu
English Anthony Szczesiul
Anthony_Szczesiul@uml.edu
History Lisa Edwards
Lisa_Edwards@uml.edu
Music Alan Williams Alan_Williams@uml.edu
Philosophy Whitley Kaufman Whitley_Kaufman@uml.edu
Political Science Ardeth Thawnghmung
Ardeth_Thawngmung@uml.edu
Psychology Richard Siegel Richard_Siegel@uml.edu
Sociology Mignon Duffy
Mignon_Duffy@uml.edu
World Languages & Culture Carole Salmon Carole_Salmon@uml.edu

 Interdisciplinary Programs

Program Director E-mail
American Studies Michael Milner
Jonathan Silverman
Michael_Milner@uml.edu
Jonathan_Silverman@uml.edu
Bachelor of Liberal Arts George Chigas George_Chigas@uml.edu
Disability Studies Ashleigh Hillier
Ashleigh_Hillier@uml.edu
Digital Media Wael Kamal Wael_Kamal@uml.edu
Environment & Society Studies Susan Gallagher Susan_Gallagher@uml.edu
Gender Studies Carol Hay
Carol_Hay@uml.edu
Global Studies John Kaag
John_Kaag@uml.edu
Labor Studies Susan Winning Susan_Winning@uml.edu
Legal Studies Michelle Bazin and Walter Toomey Michelle_Bazin@uml.edu; Walter_Toomey@uml.edu
Medieval & Renaissance Studies Laura Barefield Laura_Barefield@uml.edu
Peace and Conflict Studies David Turcotte
David_Turcotte@uml.edu
Security Studies James Forest James_Forest@uml.edu