A student and professor work on a pottery wheel.

Contact the College

Administrators for College of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences at UMass Lowell, as well as department contacts, are listed below.

Dean of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Luis M. Falcón, Ph.D.
820 Broadway St., Lowell, MA 01854
Email: Luis_Falcon@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3843

  • Tenure and promotion
  • Renewals/non-renewal of faculty
  • Faculty evaluations and merit
  • Faculty disciplinary matters

Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Andy Harris, Ph.D.
Email: Andrew_Harris@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3978

  • Faculty research support, grants, and infrastructure
  • Student research initiatives
  • Research centers
  • Funding requests (travel, events, etc.)

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies of Fine Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Sue J. Kim, Ph.D.
Email: Sue_Kim@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-4408

  • Lecturers (searches, service roles, teaching)
  • Teaching-related administrative issues
  • Interdisciplinary Programs within FAHSS
  • Co-ops and internships

Assistant Dean of FAHSS Academic Programs

Francis Talty, Ph.D.
Email: Francis_Talty@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-4328

  • Undeclared Liberal Arts students – advising and supervision of advisors
  • Other advising-related matters
  • First-year seminar
  • Adjunct management

Director of Enrollment and Student Success

Karen Humphrey-Johnson, M.A.
Email: Karen_HumphreyJohnson@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-2105

  • Admissions: recruitment and events
  • Parent Communications and Concerns
  • Follow-up with suspended students
  • Student Advising

Associate to the Dean of FAHSS

Robyn Lessard
Email: Robyn_Lessard@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3842

  • College Staff management and oversight
  • Department space/facilities
  • Program budgets
  • Coordinate Deans' calendars

Budget Manager

Alice Da Silva
Email: Alice_DaSilva@uml.edu
Phone: 978-934-3854

  • Reimbursements
  • Purchasing
  • GTAs and GRAs contracts
  • Coordinate Deans' calendars


Art & DesignJehanne-Marie GavariniJehanneMarie_Gavarini@uml.edu
Criminology & Criminal Justice (School of)Sheldon ZhangSheldon_Zhang@uml.edu
EconomicsMonica GalizziMonica_Galizzi@uml.edu
EnglishTodd AveryTodd_Avery@uml.edu
HistoryChristopher CarlsmithChristopher_Catlsmith@uml.edu
MusicAlan WilliamsAlan_Williams@uml.edu
PhilosophyJohn KaagJohn_Kaag@uml.edu
Political ScienceArdeth ThawnghmungArdeth_Thawngmung@uml.edu
PsychologyLisa GeraciLisa Geraci@uml.edu
SociologyMignon DuffyMignon_Duffy@uml.edu
World Languages & CultureMaria MatzMaria_Matz@uml.edu

Interdisciplinary Programs

American Studies MinorTodd Tietchen and Jonathan SilvermanTodd_Tietchen@uml.edu
Liberal Arts MajorSusan Thomson TripathySusan_Tripathy@uml.edu
Disability Studies MinorAshleigh HillierAshleigh_Hillier@uml.edu
Digital Media MinorWael KamalWael_Kamal@uml.edu
Environment & Society MinorCharlotte RyanCharlotte_Ryan@uml.edu
Gender Studies MinorChrista HodappChrista_Hodapp@uml.edu
Global Studies (Graduate)Jenifer Whitten-WoodringJenifer_WhittenWoodring@uml.edu
Labor Studies MinorSusan WinningSusan_Winning@uml.edu
Legal Studies MinorMichelle Veilleux and Walter ToomeyMichelle_Veilleux@uml.edu
Medieval & Renaissance Studies MinorLaura BarefieldLaura_Barefield@uml.edu
Peace and Conflict Studies MinorDavid Turcotte
Security Studies (Graduate)Arie PerligerArie_Perliger@uml.edu