Ambassadors are a diverse group of highly respected UML faculty members tasked with representing their department, acting as a line of connection between the ADVANCE Office for Faculty Equity & Resilience (OFER) and their department. Every department will be able to select an equity ambassador.
Specific Job Responsibilities include:
  1. Establish grassroots communication approach, and actively seek input from department faculty members.
  2. Serve as a representative of the department to gather input about equity and share with OFER; bring those equity issues to OFER.
  3. OFER will share equity information with the ambassadors to bring back to their department.
  4. The ambassadors also help foster the University of Massachusetts Lowell strategic plan for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging (DEIB) by helping their departments efforts alignment with the larger Framework for Inclusive Excellence.
  5. Attend two meetings per year with the OFER team members to discuss progress and provide feedback.
  6. Facilitate possible OFER visits to department meetings, and coordinate department DEIB initiative and training.
The commitment is for a 2-year renewable term. At the end of each academic year, current ambassadors who are completing a 2-year term are surveyed about their interest in continuing to serve. Each department chair is requested to submit a call for a department ambassador every 2 years.


Manning School of Business

  • Accounting - Cody Lu
  • Finance - Eunju Lee
  • Management - Elissa Magnant
  • Marketing and Entrepreneurship - Yuerong Liu
  • Operations & Information Systems - Wen Zhu

Francis College of Engineering

  • Biomedical - Zeinab Hajjarian
  • Chemical - Stephen Lam
  • Civil & Environmental - Arghaven Louhghalam
  • Electrical & Computer - Xingwei Wang
  • Mechanical & Industrial - Xingfan Jin
  • Plastics - Meg Sobkowicz-Kline

Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Art & Design - Regina Milan
  • Criminology & Justice - Wilson Palacios
  • Economics - Charlie Xu
  • School of Education - Minyeong Kim
  • English - Shelly Barish
  • History - Abby Chandler
  • Music - Janet Welby
  • Philosophy - open
  • Political Science - Emma Rodman
  • Psychology - Jana Sladkova
  • Sociology - open
  • World Languages & Culture - Kristen Stern

Kennedy Collge of Sciences

  • Biological Sciences - Teresa Lee
  • Chemistry - Kwok Fan Chow
  • Miner School of Computer & Information Sciences - Hugo Atikaya
  • Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences - open
  • Mathematics & Statistics - Carly Briggs
  • Physics & Applied Physics - Cecil Joseph

Zuckerberg College of Health Sciences

  • Biomedical & Nutritional Science - Soumita Das
  • Nursing - Maryum Zaidi
  • Physical Therapy & Kinesiology - Maggie O’Neil
  • Public Health - Herpreet Thind

Other Departments

  • Human Resources - Lee Ann Alden
  • Brand, Communications and Creative Strategy - Sarah Eisenklam
  • Massachusetts Society of Professors - Johanna Choo
  • Faculty Senate - Kevin Peterson