Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has 27 tenured/tenure-track professors, four lecturers and four staff members.

For the latest course information please visit the UMass Lowell online Academic Catalog.

Department Administration

Title Name Phone
Department Chairman and Head Martin Margala 978-934-2986
Associate Chairman Jay Weitzen 978-934-3331
Graduate Coordinator Xuejun Lu 978-934-3359
Transfer Coordinator Jay Weitzen 978-934-3315
Doctoral Coordinator Alkim Akyurtlu 978-934-3336
Graduate Internship Program Martin Margala 978-934-2986

Faculty Directory

Name Phone Office E-mail
Akyurtlu, Alkim 978-934-3336 Ball Hall 407C alkim_akyurtlu@uml.edu
Armiento, Craig 978-934-3395 Ball Hall 421C craig_armiento@uml.edu
Chandra, Kavitha 978-934-3356 Falmouth Hall 203 kavitha_chandra@uml.edu
Chigan, Tricia 978-934-3364 Ball Hall 401 tricia_chigan@uml.edu
Dutta, Joyita 978-934-5879 Ball Hall 407A joyita_dutta@uml.edu
Geiger, Michael 978-934-3618 Ball Hall 301A michael_geiger@uml.edu
Hu, Tingshu 978-934-4374 Ball Hall 405 tingshu_hu@uml.edu
Ibe, Oliver 978-934-3118 Ball Halll Hall 3rd Floor oliver_ibe@uml.edu
Liu, Hang 978-934-5497 Cumnock Hall 6A Hang_Liu@uml.edu
Lu, Xuejun 978-934-3359 Falmouth Hall 206 xuejun_lu@uml.edu
Luo, Yan 978-934-2592 Ball Hall 407B yan_luo@uml.edu
Mad’D, Mufeed 978-934-3317 Ball Hall 321 mufeed_mahd@uml.edu
Margala, Martin 978-934-2986 Ball Hall 301 martin_margala@uml.edu
Megherbi, Dalila B. 978-934-3307 Ball Hall 421B dalila_megherbi@uml.edu
Mil’Shtein, Samson 978-934-3310 Ball Hall 306 samson_milshtein@uml.edu
Pakdelian, Siavash 978-934-5826 Ball Hall 417 siavash_pakdelian@uml.edu
Palma, John 978-934-2387 Ball Hall 307 john_palma@uml.edu
Papagiannopoulou, Dimitra 978-934-5490 Cumnock Hall 6B Dimitra_Papagiannopoulou@uml.edu
Prasad, Kanti 978-934-3326 Ball Hall 309 kanti_prasad@uml.edu
Son, Seung Woo 978-934-6846 Ball Hall 419 seungwoo_son@uml.edu
Tang, Jianxin 978-934-5463 Ball Hall 311 jianxin_tang@uml.edu
Therrien, Joel 978-934-3324 Ball Hall 319 joel_therrien@uml.edu
Thompson, Charles 978-934-3360 Kitson Hall 312 charles_thompson2@uml.edu
Tredeau, Frank 978-934-3572 Ball Hall 415 frank_tredeau@uml.edu
Vokkarane, Vinod 978-934-3345 Ball Hall 409 vinod_vokkarane@uml.edu
Wang, Xingwei 978-934-1981 Ball Hall 403 xingwei_wang@uml.edu
Weitzen, Jay 978-934-3315 Ball Hall 411 jay_weitzen@uml.edu
Wickramarathne, Thanuka 978-934-5375 Ball Hall 421A thanuka@uml.edu
Yu, Hengyong 978-934-6756 Ball Hall 317 hengyong_yu@uml.edu
Zhang, Hualiang 978-934-5376 Ball Hall 407D hualiang_zhang@uml.edu

Emeritus Professor Directory

Name Phone Office Email
Cheney, George P 978-934-3331 Cumnock Hall 4C george_cheney@uml.edu
Clark, Donn 978-934-3341 Perry Hall 1st Floor donn_clark@uml.edu
Kalluri, Dikshitulu 510-559-8038 Ball Hall 3rd Floor dikshitulu_kalluri@uml.edu
Rao, Tenneti C 978-934-3323 Ball Hall 3rd Floor tenneti_rao@uml.edu
Tran, Anh 978-934-3306 Ball Hall 3rd Floor anh_tran@uml.edu
Wunsch, David 978-934-3306 Falmouth Hall 206 david_wunsch@uml.edu

Staff Directory

Name Title Email Phone
Dohn Bowden ECE Lab Manager Dohn_Bowden@uml.edu 978-934-3514
Ruth Dubey-Leduc Staff Assistant Ruth_DubeyLeduc@uml.edu 978-934-3306
Trung Hieu Nguyen Primary Technician TrungHieu_Nguyen@student.uml.edu -
Senait Haileselassie Technical Staff Senait_Haileselassie@uml.edu 978-934-3342

Adjunct Faculty

  • Terence Kelly (Raytheon)
  • Kemal Kulovic (BOSE)
  • Christopher McCarrol (Ratheon)
  • Jim E. Moran (Draper Labs): teaches EECE.5750 Field Programmable Gate Arrays Logic Design Techniques, EECE.4530/5530 Software Engineering, and EECE.5770 Verification of Digital Systems.
  • James M. Moran: teaches EECE.2330 History of Radio, EECE.2140 Fundamentals of Sound Recording, and MTEC.2260 Technical Communications for Engineering Technology.
  • Tom Sikina (Raytheon)