Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has 26 tenured/tenure-track professors, three lecturers and three staff members.

For the latest course information please visit the UMass Lowell online Academic Catalog.

Department Administration

Title Name Phone
Department Chairman and Head Martin Margala 978-934-2986
Associate Chairman Jay Weitzen
978-934-3331
Graduate Coordinator Xuejun Lu
978-934-3359
Transfer Coordinator Jay Weitzen 978-934-3315
Doctoral Coordinator Alkim Akyurtlu 978-934-3336
Graduate Internship Program Martin Margala 978-934-2986

Faculty Directory

Name Phone Office E-mail
Akyurtlu, Alkim 978-934-3336 BL 407C alkim_akyurtlu@uml.edu
Armiento, Craig 978-934-3395 BL 421C craig_armiento@uml.edu
Chandra, Kavitha 978-934-3356 FA 203 kavitha_chandra@uml.edu
Chigan, Tricia 978-934-3364 BL 401 tricia_chigan@uml.edu
Dutta, Joyita 978-934-5879 BL 407A joyita_dutta@uml.edu
Geiger, Michael 978-934-3618 PH 118A michael_geiger@uml.edu
Hu, Tingshu 978-934-4374 BL 405 tingshu_hu@uml.edu
Ibe, Oliver 978-934-3118 BL 419 oliver_ibe@uml.edu
Lu, Xuejun 978-934-3359 FA 206 xuejun_lu@uml.edu
Luo, Yan 978-934-2592 BL 407B yan_luo@uml.edu
Mad’D, Mufeed 978-934-3317 BL 321 mufeed_mahd@uml.edu
Margala, Martin 978-934-2986 BL 301 martin_margala@uml.edu
Megherbi, Dalila B. 978-934-3307 BL 421B dalila_megherbi@uml.edu
Mil’Shtein, Samson 978-934-3310 BL 306 samson_milshtein@uml.edu
Pakdelian, Siavash 978-934-5826 BL 417 siavash_pakdelian@uml.edu
Palma, John 978-934-2239 PH 118C john_palma@uml.edu
Prasad, Kanti 978-934-3326 BL 309 kanti_prasad@uml.edu
Rao, Tenneti C 978-934-3323 BL 307 tenneti_rao@uml.edu
Son, Seung Woo 978-934-6846 BL 419 seungwoo_son@uml.edu
Tang, Jianxin 978-934-5463 BL 311 jianxin_tang@uml.edu
Therrien, Joel 978-934-3324 BL 319 joel_therrien@uml.edu
Thompson, Charles 978-934-3360 KI 312 charles_thompson2@uml.edu
Tredeau, Frank 978-934-3572 PH 118B frank_tredeau@uml.edu
Vokkarane, Vinod 978-934-3345 BL 409 vinod_vokkarane@uml.edu
Wang, Xingwei 978-934-1981 BL 403 xingwei_wang@uml.edu
Weitzen, Jay 978-934-3315 BL 411 jay_weitzen@uml.edu
Wickramarathne, Thanuka 978-934-5375 BL 421A thanuka_wickramarathne@uml.edu
Yu, Hengyong 978-934-6756 BL 317 hengyong_yu@uml.edu
Zhang, Hualiang 978-934-5376 BL 407D hualiang_zhang@uml.edu

Professor Emeritus

Name Phone Office Email
Cheney, George P 978-934-3331 BL 301B george_cheney@uml.edu
Clark, Donn donn_clark@uml.edu
Kalluri, Dikshitulu dikshitulu_kalluri@uml.edu
Tran, Anh 978-934-3306 anh_tran@uml.edu
Wunsch, David 978-934-3306 FA 206 david_wunsch@uml.edu

Staff Directory

Name Title Email Phone
Dohn Bowden Assistant Systems Lab Manager Dohn_Bowden@uml.edu 978-934-3514
Ruth Dubey-Leduc Staff Assistant Ruth_DubeyLeduc@uml.edu 978-934-3306
Trung Hieu Nguyen Primary Technician TrungHieu_Nguyen@student.uml.edu
Senait Haileselassie Technical Staff Senait_Haileselassie@uml.edu 978-934-3342

Adjunct Faculty

  • Terence Kelly - Raytheon
  • Kemal Kulovic - BOSE
  • Christopher McCarrol - Ratheon
  • James M. Moran - Draper Labs
  • Jim Moran
  • Tom Sikina - Raytheon