Kayakers Relax at Sunset. At the UMass Lowell Kayak Center you can rent kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards or sign up for kayaking instructional programs, tours and events!

On this guided tour we will meet you at the Boathouse at 7 p.m. and paddle upstream on the Merrimack River. We will enjoy the sunset while floating on the water before heading back to the Boathouse in the twilight. Please come 15 minutes early to check in and prepare. Appropriate for adults and children. All tours include equipment rental and safety/paddling instructions.

Equipment

All necessary program equipment is provided.

Please see the plan-your-visit webpage for online waivers and what to bring and wear.

Physical Exertion

Easy: Participants will paddle 0-2 mi. / 0-4 km. on flat water conditions with minimal wind. No previous experience is required. Participant must be able to keep head up while wearing a life jacket in deep water. Paddle times usually run 1-2 hours.

Prerequisites

  • Appropriate for adults and children when accompanied by a parent. See the plan your visit webpage¬†for recommendations regarding minors.
  • Must be able to independently keep head above water while wearing in a life jacket/pfd.
  • No previous experience required.
Sunset Paddle Tours
Tour Date & TimeCostRegistration
Friday June 3, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 3
Saturday June 4, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 4
Friday June 10, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 10
Saturday June 11, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 11
Friday June 17, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 17
Saturday June 18, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 18
Friday June 24, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 24
Saturday June 25, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for June 25
Friday July 1, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 1
Saturday July 2, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 2
Friday July 8, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 8
Saturday July 9, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 9
Friday July 15, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 15
Saturday July 16, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 16
Friday July 22, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 22
Saturday July 23, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 23
Friday July 29, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 29
Saturday July 30, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for July 30
Friday August 5, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for August 5
Saturday August 6, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for August 6
Friday August 12, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for August 12
Saturday August 13, 2022
7-9 p.m.
$25Register Online for August 13
BONUS Saturday August 20, 2022, 7-9 p.m.$25Register Online for August 20