PERC/RURI Faculty and Staff

  • Craig Armiento
    Professor, Director, Printed Electronics Research Collaborative (PERC), Co-Director, Raytheon-UMass Lowell Research Institute (RURI); Director, Center for Photonics, Electromagnetics and Nanoelectronics (CPEN)
    Electrical & Computer Engineering

    Printed Electronics, Photonics, Semiconductor Devices, Fiber Optic Communications

  • Alkim Akyurtlu
    Professor, Associate Chair for Graduate Affairs, Co-Director Center for Photonics, Electronmagnetics and Nanoelectronics (CPEN) Doctoral Coordinator, Deputy Director for Printed Electronics Research Collaborative (PERC)
    Electrical & Computer Engineering

    Electromagnetics, metamaterials, printed electronics, antennas, and RF devices

  • Oshadha Ranasingha
    Research Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering Department

    Novel functional materials for printed electronics and additive manufacturing, Synthesis and characterization of different types of nanomaterials, RF and microwave device characterization, Rapid prototyping

  • Corey Shemelya
    Assistant Professor
    Electrical & Computer Engineering

    Additive Manufacturing (3D Printing), Printed Electronics, RF, Microwaves, Metasurface, IR-Vis and THz Photonics

  • Guinevere Strack, Ph.D.
    Engineering Program Manager, Adjunct Faculty - Chemistry
    Electrical and Computer Engineering (PERC), Chemistry, HEROES

    printed electronics, low-thermal budget curing, conductive inks, wearable electronics, nanofabrication, electrochemistry, sensors

Research Associates

Ph.D. Students

M.S. Students

PERC / RURI Alumni

  • Kate Berry, MS 2022 – Analog Devices
  • Bradley Pothier, MS 2022 - Diversified Technologies
  • Mark Pothier, MS 2022 - Analog Devices
  • Eric Brown, MS 2021 - Ball Aerospace
  • Erika Klek, MS 2022 - MITRE Corporation
  • Shokat Ganjeheizadeh Rohani, MS 2020 -  Qorvo Incorporated 
  • Dave Mahoney, Ph.D. 2019 - BAE Systems
  • Niholas Hagloff, MS, 2018 - SI2 Technologies
  • Ehsan Hajisaeid, Ph.D. 2018 - Insulet Technolgies
  • Jim Benedict, MS 2018, MITRE Corporation
  • Tiffany Mannion, MS 2017 - MITRE Corporation 
  • Carolyn Reistad, MS 2017 - Analog Devices 
  • Elicia Harper, MS 2017 - Raytheon Technologies
  • Matt Skinner, MS 2017 - SI2 Technologies
  • Kyle Homan, MS 2016 – Optomec Incorporated
  • Mahdi Haghzadeh, Ph.D. 2016 – Keysight Technologies

Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Research Centers: NSF Nanomanufacturing Center

  • Joey Mead
    University Professor, Co-Director of Nanomanufacturing Center of Excellence; Deputy Director, NSF Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing; Center Director, SHAP3D
    Plastics Engineering

    Rubber technology, thermoplastic elastomers, design, properties and processing of elastomers, nano materials.

  • Carol Barry
    Chair, Professor
    Plastics Engineering

    Plastics processing, including extrusion, injection molding, and novel processing techniques; nanomanufacturing with polymers; 3D printing

Affiliated Research Centers: HEROES

  • Ramaswamy Nagarajan, Ph.D.
    Professor, Co-Director of HEROES
    Plastics Engineering, HEROES, Fabric Discovery Center, PERC, Nanomanufacturing Center for Excellence, NERVE, RURI, LoCSST,

    Biocatalysis, greener advanced materials (electronic, photo-responsive polymers, molecularly integrated hybrid nanomaterials, materials for energy conversion/storage), elastomers, thermal & morphological characterization of materials, roll to roll manufacture of flexible electronic products.