Prizes and Awards given by the UMass Lowell History Department

The History Department offers several prizes to students each year, as well as an award for excellence in faculty teaching.

Outstanding Scholar (Highest GPA)

  • Siobhán Hale, 2024
  • Emma Abraham, Madison Buffat, Ariella Fleischer, Augustin Garcia, Deirdre Hutchison, Jennilyn Ludescher, Robert Makris (MA), Kalvin Richard, Jenna Saade, Camryn Skinner, and Joshua Vollmar, 2023
  • Benjamin Curcio, Sarah Elizabeth McDermott, and Kayleigh O’Mahony, 2022
  • Ryan Bowen, Jackie Chianca, Sophie Combs, and Corey Nadeau, 2021
  • Alan Mendieta, Bradley Sherwood, Benjamin Schwartzberg, 2020
  • Matthew Ahern, 2019
  • Kerstin Darsney, 2018
  • Katherine Gilligan and Jacob Strout, 2017
  • Roger Schwitalla, Bridget Kelleher, Tim Judge, and Nicholas Gates, 2016
  • Megan Shea, Cristina DiCologero, and Ed Appleton, 2015
  • Katherine Ann DiTullio, 2013
  • Holly Louise Bowers, 2012
  • Constance M. Schere, 2011
  • Maria Millet, 2010
  • Sarah Evelyn Varnerin, 2009

Blewett Research Prize

Named in honor of Professor Mary Blewett emerita, a distinguished scholar of American history who taught at UMass Lowell until her retirement in 1999. Blewett was an expert in American social history. She published several books about local history, including The Last Generation: Work and Life in the Textile Mills of Lowell, 1910-1960, and Surviving Hard Times: The Working People of Lowell, and Constant Turmoil: The Politics of Industrial Life in Nineteenth-Century New England. She is also the author of To Enrich and To Serve: The Centennial History of the University of Massachusetts, Lowell.

This award is given annually every spring by a sub-committee comprised of History Department faculty, for student essays completed over the preceding academic year. Students may self-nominate or faculty may submit essays with the student’s permission. The paper must be unmarked (without comments or grades) and unrevised. Students have to be enrolled when the award is given. There is no requirement regarding sources used or length, though papers incorporating primary source research will receive preference. All entries should be submitted anonymously, in hard copy or electronically, to the Chair of the Blewett Prize committee, currently Prof. Patrick Young, at any time prior to April 1 of a given academic year. The winner receives a book award at the end of the year; honorable mentions are sometimes selected at the discretion of the committee.

Prior winners include:

  • Anna Skrekas, Campbell Tacey, and Ashley Wickfield, 2024
  • Deirdre Hutchison and Joshua Vollmar, 2023
  • Benjamin Curcio and Jennifer Quinn, 2022
  • Ryan Bowen and Seamus O’Hearne, 2021
  • Sophie Combs, 2019
  • Christina Sirignano and Grace Nealey, 2018
  • Kelley Leonhard, 2017
  • Jacob Strout and Liam Keegan, 2016
  • Bernard Trubowitz, 2015
  • Victoria Crenshaw and Eric Hinds, 2014
  • Christopher Lynch, 2013
  • Alex Temple, 2012
  • Lauren Jean, 2011
  • Katie Marlene Harris, 2010

Carroll Award for Service

Named in honor of Charles Carroll, former Department Chair and former Dean of the College of Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. Carroll was a scholar of colonial American history who dedicated many years to his department and his college.

This award is given each spring by a sub-committee comprised of History Department faculty based upon nominations from the faculty. The award recognizes students who have given selflessly to the Department, and to their fellow students, through any kind of service. The winner receives a book award at the end of the year.

Prior winners include:

  • Isabella Rozzi and Campbell Tacey, 2024
  • Ariella Fleischer and Deirdre Hutchison, 2023
  • Sarah Elizabeth McDermott, 2022
  • Ellie DiMauro, 2021
  • Meagan Timmins, 2020
  • Kady Phelps, 2019
  • Molly Mahoney and Neil Oliveria, 2018
  • Matthew Leece, 2017
  • Erika Petipas, 2015
  • Mary Katherine Hazel, 2013
  • Ashley Jean, 2012
  • Timothy Hire, 2011
  • Jenna Marie Lapachinski, 2010
  • Victoria Tesoniero, 2009

History Department Teaching Award

This award is given every spring to a full-time member of the History Department to reward excellence in classroom teaching. It comes with a cash award of $1,000 courtesy of the Office of the Provost.

Prior winners include:

  • Andrew Drenas, 2024
  • Daniel Broyld, 2023
  • Chad Montrie, 2022
  • Jane Sancinito, 2021
  • Christopher Carlsmith, 2020
  • Robert Forrant, 2019
  • Elizabeth Williams, 2018
  • Michael Pierson, 2017
  • Elizabeth Herbin-Triant, 2016
  • Paul Keen, 2015
  • Mairead Pratschke, 2014
  • Shane Minkin, 2013
  • Ethan Spanier, 2012
  • Abigail Chandler, 2011
  • Shehong Chen, 2010
  • Lisa Edwards, 2009