Skip to Main Content

Prizes & Awards

Prizes & Awards given by the UMass Lowell History Department

The History Department offers several prizes to students each year, as well as an award for excellence in faculty teaching.

Outstanding Scholar (Highest GPA)

  • Sarah Evelyn Varnerin, 2009
  • Maria Millet, 2010
  • Constance M. Schere, 2011
  • Holly Louise Bowers, 2012
  • Katherine Ann DiTullio, 2013
  • Megan Shea, Cristina DiCologero, & Ed Appleton, 2015
  • Roger Schwitalla, Bridget Kelleher, Tim Judge, & Nicholas Gates, 2016

Blewett Research Prize

Named in honor of Prof. Mary Blewett emerita, a distinguished scholar of American history who taught at UMass Lowell until her retirement in 1999. Blewett was an expert in American social history. She published several books about local history, including The Last Generation: Work and Life in the Textile Mills of Lowell, 1910-1960, and Surviving Hard Times: The Working People of Lowell, and Constant Turmoil: The Politics of Industrial Life in Nineteenth-Century New England. She is also the author of To Enrich and To Serve: The Centennial History of the University of Massachusetts, Lowell.

This award is given annually every spring by a sub-committee comprised of History Department faculty, for student essays completed over the preceding academic year. (In 2015-16 only, we will include papers from Spring 2015 as we transition to a new calendar.) Students may self-nominate or faculty may submit essays with the student’s permission. The paper must be unmarked (without comments or grades) and unrevised. Students have to be enrolled when the award is given. There is no requirement regarding sources used or length, though papers incorporating primary source research will receive preference. All entries should be submitted anonymously, in hard copy or electronically, to the Chair of the Blewett Prize committee, currently Prof. Chad Montrie, at any time prior to April 1st of a given academic year. The winner receives a book award at the end of the year; honorable mentions are sometimes selected at the discretion of the committee.

Prior winners include:

  • Katie Marlene Harris, 2010
  • Lauren Jean, 2011
  • Alex Temple, 2012
  • Christopher Lynch, 2013
  • Victoria Crenshaw and Eric Hinds, 2014
  • Bernard Trubowitz, 2015
  • Jacob Strout and Liam Keegan, 2016

Carroll Award for Service

Named in honor of Charles Carroll, former Department Chair and former Dean of the College of Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. Carroll was a scholar of colonial American history who dedicated many years to his department and his college.

This award is given each spring by a sub-committee comprised of History Department faculty based upon nominations from the faculty. The award recognizes students who have given selflessly to the Department, and to their fellow students, through any kind of service. The winner receives a book award at the end of the year.

Prior winners include:

  • Victoria Tessoniero, 2009
  • Jenna Marie Lapachinski, 2010
  • Timothy Hire, 2011
  • Ashley Jean, 2012
  • Mary Katherine Hazel, 2013
  • Erika Petipas, 2015

History Department Teaching Award

This award is given every spring to a full-time member of the History Department to reward excellence in classroom teaching. It comes with a cash award of $1,000 courtesy of the Office of the Provost.

Prior winners include:

  • Lisa Edwards, 2009
  • Shehong Chen, 2010
  • Abigail Chandler, 2011
  • Ethan Spanier, 2012
  • Shane Minkin, 2013
  • Paul Keen, 2015
  • Betsy Herbin-Triant, 2016