The Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing (CHN), awarded in 2004, was a multi-university, National Science Foundation funded center (NSEC). Researchers from each university provide a specific area of expertise to the over-all goals of the center. The center was successfully funded by the NSF through ten years.

  • Northeastern University — Prof. Ahmed Busnaina, mechanical engineering, was director of the CHN. Participating faculty from Northeastern supply expertise in electronics, MEMS, and contamination.
  • University of New Hampshire — Prof. Glen Miller, chemistry, was the lead person for the CHN at UNH. UNH provides strength in chemistry, physics, and materials science.
  • Michigan State University — Prof. David Tomanek, molecular dynamics modeling of carbon nanotubes.