The UMass Lowell Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing and Center for Advanced Manufacturing of Polymers and Soft Materials (formerly the Nanomanufacturing Center) work with non-profit and government agencies as well as university partners and industry leaders on collaborative efforts that advance nanotechnology to enable the manufacture of nano-inspired products that meet customer requirements, are safe, and minimize product liabilities.


The Massachusetts Technology Collaborative is the state's development agency for renewable energy and the innovation economy, which is responsible for one-quarter of all jobs in the state. MTC administers the John Adams Innovation Institute and the Renewable Energy Trust. MTC works to stimulate economic activity in communities throughout the Commonwealth. The Nanomanufacturing Center is grateful for the initial funding [Nanomanufacturing Center of Excellence (NCOE)] from MTC and continues to interact with MTC in programs such as FHE-MII (NextFlex). Members of MTC participate as Liaison Members of the Nanomanufacturing Center Executive Advisory Board.


The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense" With an annual budget of about $5.5 billion, it is the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. The Nanomanufacturing Center is grateful for being designated a NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC) in 2004 and continues to participate in NSF funded programs.

The Army Research Office (ARO) funded early efforts at the Nanomanufacturing Center in areas such as material health monitoring.