The UMass Lowell Peace and Conflict Studies program brings speakers to campus to present their research on key issues in the field. Below are working papers from some of our guest speakers.

Some materials are available for download in PDF format.

George Lopez

Professor George Lopez is Chair of Peace Studies at the University of Notre Dame. His research interests focus primarily on the problems of state violence, especially economic sanctions, gross violations of human rights, and ethics and the use of force. He served as the 2013 Brad Morse Scholar at University of Massachusetts Lowell. The Careers in Peacebuilding webinar he led is available on the videos page.

David Cortright

Professor David Cortright is Director of Policy Studies at the Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies at the University of Notre Dame. Professor Cortright is an internationally renowned scholar and practitioner of nonviolent activism. He is currently Chair of the Board of the Fourth Freedom Forum in Goshen, Indiana.

Yoram Meital

Professor Yoram Meital is the Chair-person of the Chaim Herzog Center for Middle East Studies and Diplomacy, and the past Chair of the Department of Middle East Studies, at Ben Gurion University of the Negev (BGU).

Gavriel Salomon

Gavriel Salomon is the founder and director of the Center for Research on Peace Education in Haifa. He is co-chair of the board of directors of Sikkuy, the Association for the Advancement of Civic Equality in Israel, and chair of the Academic Council of the Arab Academic College El-Kassami. Professor Salomon received the Israel Award in 2001 for his work in the field of peace education.

Sammy Smooha

Professor Sammy Smooha is Professor of Sociology at the University of Haifa (since 1974) and a Visiting Professor in the Sociology Department and the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies at Brandeis University (2010-11). He was a Jennings Randolph Senior Fellow at the United States Institute of Peace in Washington, DC (2009-10), Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences (2006-09), President of Israeli Sociological Society (2008-10), and a laureate of Israel Prize for Sociology (2008).