Skip to Main Content


The Tripathy Endowed Memorial Lecture is scientific lecture series, presented by world renowned scientists, that benefits the university community engaged in new, emerging science and technologies.

Each year, a leading scientist in the field of materials science comes to UMass Lowell to present a lecture in memory of Sukant K. Tripathy.

The late UMass Lowell professor of chemistry was an internationally recognized leader and researcher in the area of thin polymer films in electronics and optics, publishing more than 200 refereed papers and holding two dozen patents. He founded the Center for Advanced Materials (CAM) and was formerly the University’s provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs.

Professor Shuji Nakamura will be the 2018 Tripathy Endowed Memorial Lecturer, and receiving and Honorary Degree from the Chancellor on Wednesday, April 11, 2018. Dr. Shuji Nakamura obtained B.E., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Tokushima. Professor Nakamura is widely recognized for developing the first III-nitride-based blue/green LEDs and III-nitride-based violet laser diodes. Dr. Nakamura joined the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1999. He is currently the Research Director of the Solid State Lighting & Energy Electronics Center and The Cree Professor in Solid State Lighting and Display. His research includes MOCVD growth and device fabrication of indium gallium nitride (InGaN) light-emitters. He received the 2006 Millennium Technology Prize for his invention of revolutionary new energy-saving light sources and the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Physics for the invention of efficient blue LEDs, which have enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources.

2018 Honoree

Professor Shuji Nakamura, the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Physics, will be the 2018 Tripathy Endowed Memorial Lecturer, and receive an Honorary Degree from the UMass Lowell Chancellor, Jacquie Moloney on Wednesday, April 11, 2018.

Learn more about Professor Shuji Nakamura's lecture “Development of High Efficiency Blue InGaN LEDs and Laser Diodes”.

Past Lecturers

Past distinguished lecturers include: