CPH-NEW External Advisory Committee

The role of the External Advisory Committee (EAC) is to provide overall strategic guidance to Center researchers. The CPH-NEW External Advisory Committee has two subcommittees: The Research Subcommittee will assist in research design and conduct and the Research-to-Practice Subcommittee will guide in research to practice applications.

The EAC is comprised of representatives from academia, business, labor, government and the practitioner community. Each member has been selected for a background relevant either to worksite health promotion or occupational safety and health, experience with worker involvement in interventions, and an ability to enhance consideration of different constituent groups' perspectives.

Current CPH-NEW External Advisory Committee Members

  • Judith Arnetz, Ph.D., MPH, PT, Professor & Associate Chair for Research, Department of Family Medicine, Michigan State University
  • Amy Bahruth, Associate Director, American Federation of Teachers
  • Letitia Davis, Sc.D., EdM, Director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program, Massachusetts Department of Public Health (retired)
  • Kate McPhaul, Ph.D., MPH, RN, Associate Research Professor, Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health, University of Maryland School of Public Health; and Editor-in-Chief, Workplace Health & Safety
  • Joseph S. Pachman, MD, PhD, FACOEM, ABPP, Principal, Joseph Pachman and Associates
  • Christine Pontus, MS, RN, COHN-S/CCM, Associate Director for Health and Safety, Massachusetts Nurses Association
  • Glenn S. Pransky, MD, MPH, MOccH, Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Department of Family Medicine & Community Health
  • Robert Rinker, MS, Executive Director Emeritus, Connecticut State Employees Association, SEIU Local 2001
  • David J. Roy, CPE, BS, 2nd Vice President, Forensic Engineering Laboratory, The Travelers
  • Peter Schnall, MD, MPH, Professor Emeritus, University of California at Irvine at UCI Health
  • Steven Schrag, Co-Chair, Connecticut Council of Occupational Safety and Health (ConnectiCOSH), Hazmat Program Coordinator at SEIU 1199
  • Adam L. Seidner, MD, MPH, CIC, Chief Medical Officer of The Harford Insurance Group
  • Emily Sparer-Fine, ScD, MS, Director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program, Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • David Wegman, MD, MPH, Professor and Dean Emeritus, School of Health and Environment, UMass Lowell
  • Al Vega, BS, Chief of Strategy and Engagement at Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety and Health (MassCOSH)