This Year's Winner:

The 2021 Manning Prize Winner is Stacy Agee Szczesiul, Associate Professor, School of Education.

The Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching was established in 2015 by alumni Robert ’84 and Donna Manning ’85, ’91, and honors outstanding faculty members from each of the five campuses of the University of Massachusetts.  This competitive prize is presented to faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching along with exemplary dedication to students and the campus community.  This $10,000 award will be presented to one faculty member from each of the five campuses. As is tradition, President Meehan will host a celebration honoring the 2022 recipients at the end of the academic year. The celebration will take place on Wednesday, June 15, 2022, at 12 noon at the UMass Club.


The nominee must:

  • Be a current full-time faculty member at UMass Lowell who has achieved at least the rank of associate professor, associate teaching professor, or associate clinical professor.
  • Demonstrate excellence in all three of the following areas:
    1. Teaching
    2. Dedication to students
    3. Dedication to the university community

Nomination Process

  • Nominators must send an email to outlining in 100 – 200 words why the individual faculty member is worthy of the award. Faculty may self-nominate.
  • The deadline for nominations to be received is Friday, December 17, 2021.
  • Nominees will be notified on Monday, January 10, 2022, of their nomination.
  • Nominees will have until Friday, January 14, 2022, to accept the nomination by sending an email to

The Selection Process

Complete candidate application materials must be emailed to by Friday, February 18, 2022

If a nominee wishes to submit an application for the Manning Award, they will be asked to submit a package with the following materials:

  • Cover letter that outlines their teaching philosophy, instructional approaches and active learning techniques and presents evidence of accomplishments in all of the following areas:
    1. Excellence in teaching*
    2. Exemplary dedication to students
    3. Exemplary dedication to the UMass Lowell (UML) campus community
      *Faculty are encouraged to highlight their pedagogical adaptations that was a result of the recent shift from traditional lecturing in-person to remote learning environments.
  • At least two but no more than five letters of support, no longer than one-page each, from colleagues or students/alumni who are not currently enrolled in their class, to include:
    1. At least one student letter
    2. At least one letter from a departmental colleague
  • Letters should provide detailed evidence of the nominees’:
    1. Excellence in teaching
    2. Exemplary dedication to students
    3. Exemplary dedication to the UML campus community
  • At least one but not more than three examples of the teaching materials used in a course; please submit only one example from any given category.  These examples may include, for example:
    1. Course syllabus
    2. Course/project assignment information
    3. Slides from an in-class presentation

Complete candidate application materials must be emailed to: by Friday, February 18, 2022

The committee will meet to review the application materials and make a recommendation to the Chancellor by March 25, 2022, for selection to go to the UMass President’s Office for approval.

Past Winners:

  • 2020: Keith Mitchell, Associate Professor of English.
  • 2019: James Nehring, Faculty Chair and Professor, Leadership in Schooling
  • 2018: Deborah Finch, Associate Teaching Professor, Manning School of Business