119 Students Welcomed to International Business Honor Society

Dozens of students and faculty pose for a photo in a ballroom Image by Ed Brennen
Held in person for the first time in three years because of the pandemic, the Manning School of Business' Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony featured a record class.

By Ed Brennen

The Manning School of Business inducted a record 119 undergraduate, graduate and Ph.D. students into the Beta Gamma Sigma international business honor society at a recent ceremony at the UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center.

Student chapter president Nadine Chamoun, a senior business administration major and Honors student from Walpole, Massachusetts, welcomed the new inductees, who represent six continents from around the world. Membership is open to the top 10% of sophomores, juniors and seniors and the top 20% of graduate students.

Joining Chamoun on the dais were chapter vice presidents Heer Patel (undergraduate) and Oldden Fox (graduate) and president-elect Nicole Wilson.

Business Dean Sandra Richtermeyer, president of the Manning School’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter, noted that for many of the inductees, this was the first professional organization they were joining.

“Being part of a professional association is so important to your career progression and to building a strong global network, which we all need as business leaders,” she said. “No matter where you go to work — whether it’s a startup, a small or midsized business, a global corporation, a nonprofit or a government organization — there is a global facet. And you are all now members of a global professional association.”

Four women and a man pose for a photo at an honor society induction ceremony Image by Ed Brennen
Business Dean Sandra Richtermeyer poses with Beta Gamma Sigma offers, from second left, Nadine Chamoun, Nicole Wilson, Oldden Fox and Heer Patel.
Three Manning School faculty members were also inducted: Asst. Prof. of Management José Godinez Gonzalez,  Assoc. Prof. of Finance Tunde Kovacs and Visiting Faculty Lecturer of Finance Carolyn Kedersha.

Assoc. Teaching Profs. Michael Beers and Cassandra Rohland, former co-advisors for the Beta Gamma Sigma chapter, received Faculty Liaison Service Awards.

Management Prof. and Dept. Chair Stuart Freedman, who is retiring this spring after 43 years at the Manning School, was recognized with the Faculty Leadership Award.

“I’ve been to many Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremonies over the years, and every one of them was a joy to attend — to watch all of our distinguished students honored in this very important and long-lasting way,” Freedman told the inductees. “I wish you all the very best in your life and career.”

Founded in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma has more than 600 collegiate chapters with members in 190 countries. Membership is by invitation only, extended to top students at business schools accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International.

The mission of BGS is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence, advance the values of the society and serve its lifelong members.

Two men and two women enjoy a conversation while eating appetizers Image by Ed Brennen
Beta Gamma Sigma inductees and their guests enjoy food and conversation before the ceremony.
Online MBA student Vaibhav Tale made the trip from Mississauga, Ontario, a city just outside Toronto. As a regional representative for ChemtronRiverBend, a company that helps industrial clients install anaerobic digestion systems, he was able to attend the ceremony after visiting a client in Connecticut.

“I’m so glad I was able to come here. I wish I’d brought my family, but they will definitely come for Commencement” next spring, said Tale, who spent half the day meeting some of his professors in person at the Pulichino Tong Business Center.

The 2022 induction class includes: Daniel Allen, Sachiko Azuma, Jhostin Baez, Michael Bartoszek, Rina Begum, Neil Berube, Mohhamed Billimoria, Craig Buhowski, Olivia Campbell, Monita Chea, Runzhi Chen, Kenneth Clark, Ryan Coccia, William Considine, Kevin Conway, Samantha Cooke, Sarah Curley, Salma Dakiri, Kayla Douangchith, Mesha Franco, Gordon Freeman, Koki Fujii, Tomohiro Fujimori, Naohiro Fujita, Shozo Fukuda, Isabelle Giles, Emily Goglia, Dylan Gomes, Eduardo Gonzalez, Sophia Governo, Geneva Griffin, Nikhila Gubbala, Arindam Guha, Elizabeth Haddock, Bennett Hamilton, Eisha Haroon, Shinya Hirose, Dan Hu;

Reiji Ikeda, Akimitsu Ikeura, Gillian Inglis, Yuji Inoue, Naoki Ito, Jessica Iwanicki, Jessica Jaime, Peiyi Jia, Reina Kaneko, Taka Kawashiri, Ashley Kern, Brenna Kessinger, Rayyan Kherati, Andrew Kilar, Yoshiyuki Kinugasa, Jun Kobayashi, Masafumi Kokui, Satoshi Konagai, Marek Korencik, Channymol Kum, Amos Kungu, Yoshie Kurata, Hiroyuki Kurita, Makayla Larochelle, Dallas LaSalle, David Levine, Pei-Ru Lin, Thuy Mai, Lucas Maloney, Peter Mann, Joseph Mayor, Alexander Michals, Peter Miller, Khadija Mir, Joseph Mirabella, Alba Miranda-Ribera, Takuya Mishima, Ethan Molisee, Mizue Nakajima, Julia Ofiesh, Tomohiro Oka, Yuta Okano, Hiroki Okino, Patrick Orcino, Hitomi Ozaki, Fumiaki Ozaki;

Andrew Pangalos, Drasti Patel, Stephanie Patel, Vy Pham, Rebecca Pollock, Arundhati Prasanth, William Pullen, Waylon Quinlan, Kristen Reardon, Madeline Roop, Takehiro Sakita, Roberto Santos, Seiichi Sasazawa, Koji Senda, Keijiro Shintani, Allison Signorello, Jaskaran Singh, April Solomon, Jessica Stevens, Aleczander Stith, Takuya Suguri, James Sullivan, Tao Sun, Dennis Sykes, Natsuki Takahara, Vaibhav Tale, Sophia Tran, Easmond Tsewole, Susumu Tsuchiya, Ishimwe Uwase, Hiroshi Yamaguchi, Daisuke Yamashita, Jinhua Yan, Audrey Yana and Qi Yu.