Skip to Main Content

University Police Nab 4 Statewide Awards

Four Members of Department Receive MACLEA Recognition

Members of the UML Police Department at the annual MACLEA awards
UMass Lowell Police Department members, from left, Chief Randy Brashears, Officer Dan McPhillips, Officer Johnny Sann, Officer Sean Donovan, Detective Joe Molinari and Deputy Chief Ron Dickerson at the Dec. 16 MACLEA awards ceremony in Leominster.

By Ed Brennen

Four members of the UMass Lowell Police Department were honored for their work by the Massachusetts Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (MACLEA) at its annual awards ceremony, held recently in Leominster.

Officers Dan McPhillips, Sean Donovan and Johnny Sann all received awards for Heroic Action, while Detective Joe Molinari received the award for Outstanding Personal Contribution.

“The work of these staff members makes us all proud at UMLPD,” said UMass Lowell Police Chief Randy Brashears, who added that he received compliments from several fellow police chiefs at the ceremony on his department’s work.

The 30-officer university police force is a full-service department that provides patrol, emergency response and crime prevention and education services for the campus and surrounding community. Its members attend the municipal police academy and work cooperatively with local law enforcement. 

McPhillips was recognized for locating and arresting a burglary suspect, while Donovan was honored for responding to a possible jumper at a city bridge. He arrived in time to pull the subject to safety and take him to the hospital for treatment.
Sann was recognized, meanwhile, for helping thwart a baby kidnapping incident at Lowell General Hospital. Sann was able to stop the suspect and helped reunite the baby with its mother.

Molinari was assigned to follow up on a theft of a bike. The detective was able to locate the suspect, obtain a confession, obtain the names of the other suspects, and recover stolen property from several thefts.
MACLEA, a non-profit organization dedicated to the administration of law enforcement and security programs on college campuses across the state, has 117 members from its 68 represented agencies.