Outstanding members of UMass Lowell’s Class of 2023 were honored during an awards celebration as part of Commencement festivities. 

Student recipients of this year’s Chancellor’s Medals were honored for their scholastic and athletic achievements, service to others, and their efforts to foster a greater sense of diversity, equity and inclusion among students on campus and in the community. The award winners, along with student government leaders and student Commencement speakers, were recognized at the Chancellor’s Medal Celebration on Friday, May 12 at UMass Lowell’s University Crossing student center.  

This year, 40 students were honored with awards.  

Trustees Keys

Eleven students received the Trustees Key for completing all four years of their undergraduate careers at UMass Lowell with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Their hometowns and majors are included here: 
  • Nour Douffir, North Andover, computer science
  • Anthony Florio, Methuen, civil engineering
  • Amanda Gavin, Groton, exercise science
  • Avinash Kumar, North Andover, electrical engineering
  • Jean-Christophe Metivier, Methuen, biomedical engineering
  • Peyton Newsome, Corona, Calif., criminal justice
  • Aiyanna Parker, Plainville, biology
  • Megan Salsinha, Westport, biology
  • Jacquelyn Serino, Beverly, nursing
  • Matthew Waterman, Chelmsford, computer science
  • Jared Widberg, Peabody, computer science
Each of these students also received a Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Academic Achievement, which honors bachelor’s degree recipients in each of UMass Lowell’s colleges who have attained the highest GPA. 

Chancellor’s Medals for Distinguished Academic Achievement

In addition to the Trustees Key students, each of these students received a Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Academic Achievement, which honors bachelor’s degree recipients in each of UMass Lowell’s colleges who have attained the highest GPA. 
  • James Aciukewicz, Harvard, world languages and cultures
  • Judith Bricklin, Barnstable, business administration
  • Brian Chen, Westford, business administration
  • Isabelle Frost, Tewksbury, business administration
  • Deirdre Hutchison, Andover, history
  • Jaydon Kinuthia, Leominster, biology
  • Sean Lynch, Framingham, computer science
  • Heather O’Connor, Suwanee, Ga., information technology
  • Phillip Patel, Southbridge, applied biomedical sciences
  • Eleanora Peters, Stoneham, education
  • Mark Pritchard, Westford, American studies
  • Natalie Targ, Westford, public health 
  • Jennifer Tassos, Fitchburg, information technology
  • Brandon Torres, Gardner, psychology
  • Liem Vu, Chelsea, applied biomedical sciences 
  • Olivia Widjaja, Lowell, plastics engineering

Chancellor’s Medal for Student Service

Chancellor’s Medal for Student Service award winners were recommended for the honor because of their exemplary contributions to campus life. The six honorees are: 
  • Ewaldine “Shakira” Fedna, Lynn, biology
  • Neyder Fernandez, Lowell, political science
  • Gifty Kessie, Worcester, mechanical engineering
  • Mina Lam, Medford, business administration
  • David Levine, Stoneham, business administration
  • Jenna Saade, Framingham, history 

Chancellor’s Medal for Community Service

Five students received the Chancellor’s Medal for Community Service in recognition of their significant contributions to the public good. The honorees are: 
  • Clara Kondamudi, Lowell, business administration
  • Brianna Langlois, Westford, education
  • Megan Salsinha, Westport, biology
  • Jillian Stacy, Methuen, criminal justice
  • Chenxi Wang, Lowell, computer engineering

Chancellor’s Medal for Diversity & Inclusion

The university recognized three students for their achievements in fostering a sense of belonging on campus and throughout the community. The recipients of Chancellor’s Medals for Diversity and Inclusion are: 
  • Khadija Mir, Allen, Texas, business administration
  • Sopheavin Sin, Lowell, public health 
  • Annikki Williams, Washington, D.C, biology

University Scholar-Athlete Award

Megan Salsinha, a biology major from Westport, who was honored with a Trustees Key, a Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Academic Achievement and Chancellor’s Medal for Community Service, also received the 2023 University Scholar-Athlete Award. The honor recognizes the athlete who attained the highest grade-point average among students who have participated in varsity sports for all four years of their undergraduate career. Salsinha was a member of the UMass Lowell field hockey team.