Skip to Main Content

Proximity-Qualifying Towns

Proximity Regional Program Qualifying Towns

To qualify for Proximity rates, southern New Hampshire students must have a permanent residence that is closer to UMass Lowell than to their home-state institution offering the same program. Eligibility is also extended to specific towns in southern New Hampshire whose residents are required to attend a regional high school that is closer to UMass Lowell than their home-state institution offering the same program.

Qualifying Cities and Towns Include:

  • Amherst
    Zip Code: 03031
  • Atkinson
    Zip Code: 03811
  • Auburn
    Zip Code: 03032
  • Bedford
    Zip Code: 03110
  • Brookline
    Zip Code: 03033
  • Chester
    Zip Code: 03036
  • Danville
    Zip Code: 03819
  • Derry
    Zip Code: 03038
  • East Derry
    Zip Code: 03041
  • East Hampstead
    Zip Code: 03826
  • Goffstown
    Zip Code: 03045
  • Greenville
    Zip Code: 03048
  • Hampstead
    Zip Code: 03841
  • Hollis
    Zip Code: 03049
  • Hooksett
    Zip Code: 03106
  • Hudson
    Zip Code: 03051
  • Litchfield
    Zip Code: 03052
  • Londonderry
    Zip Code: 03053
  • Lyndeborough
    Zip Code: 03082
  • Manchester
    Zip Codes: 03101, 03102, 03103, 03104, 03105, 03106, 03107, 03108, 03109, 03111
  • Mason
    Zip Code: 03048
  • Merrimack
    Zip Code: 03054
  • Milford
    Zip Code: 03055
  • Mont Vernon
    Zip Code: 03057
  • Nashua
    Zip Code: 03060, 03061, 03062, 03063, 03064
  • New Boston
    Zip Code: 03070
  • North Salem
    Zip Code: 03073
  • Pelham
    Zip Code: 03076
  • Plaistow
    Zip Code: 03865
  • Salem
    Zip Code: 03079
  • Sandown
    Zip Code: 03873
  • Wilton
    Zip Code: 03086
  • Windham
    Zip Code: 03087

Students living in Atkinson, Brookline, Hollis, Hudson, Nashua, North Salem, Pelham, Plaistow, Salem and Windham qualify for the Proximity Rate for all majors.

Undergraduates whose permanent residence is geographically closer to UNH-Manchester qualify for Proximity rates for all majors except English, History, Psychology and Undeclared. This includes residents of: Amherst, Auburn, Bedford, Chester, Danville, Derry, East Derry, East Hampstead, Goffstown, Greenville, Hampstead, Litchfield, Londonderry, Lyndeborough, Manchester, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Boston, Sandown and Wilton.

Proximity rate students are eligible for on-campus housing from their first semester.

This offer is based on the proximity provision of the New England Regional Student Program (NERSP) conducted by the New England Board of Higher Education. Students from any part of New Hampshire enrolled in RSP-qualifying majors (undergraduate programs include Community Health Education, Meteorology, Music Business, Nuclear Engineering, Plastics Engineering, Radiological Health Physics and Sound Recording Technology) will continue to be eligible for the New England Regional Program tuition and fees.

For additional information, please contact the Office of Undergraduate Admissions at 978-934-3931.