Skip to Main Content


Mathematical Sciences Scholarship Fund

In 1995, the department started soliciting contributions to a scholarship fund. The ultimate purpose of the fund was to provide financial assistance to worthy mathematics majors. Through the generous contributions of Mary and Russ Bedell, and Alice and Arthur Zamanakas, we have begun to offer significant scholarships to our mathematics majors. In addition, several other contributions has made it possible to offer book awards that provide motivation for our increasing base of math majors. Any additional contributions, large or small, would be appreciated. To contribute, you can send a check payable to" Mathematical Sciences Scholarship Fund" to the following address:

Mathematical Sciences Scholarship Fund 
Department of Mathematical Sciences 
University of Massachusetts Lowell 
Lowell, MA 01854

Don't forget matching funds from your employer.

The Professor Charlie Steele Memorial Fund

The Professor Charlie Steele Memorial Fund was established in memory of Prof. Steele, the first permanent faculty member of the Computer Science Department. One scholarship is awarded each year to a student who is a fully matriculated masters or doctoral candidate in Computer Science, Mathematics, or Electrical and Computer Engineering. Candidates should be in good academic standing and should be successfully completing their degree requirements with at least a 3.0 grade point average.

Richardson/Bedell Scholarship Fund

Mary (Richardson) Bedell and Russell Bedell, both Class of 1981, have established the Richardson-Bedell Scholarship Fund in 1999. Interest from the fund goes toward merit scholarships for mathematics majors who have exceled for at least two years at UMass Lowell.

Mary and Russ Bedell presented the first annual Richardson/Bedell Scholarship to Gregory T. Von Nessi ('01) on May 11, 2000

Professor Bernard and Yana Shapiro Endowed Scholarship Fund

A $1,000 merit scholarship is awarded annually from the Professor Bernard and Yana Shapiro Endowed Scholarship Fund. This scholarship is for a Math major who will be completing his/her Sophomore or Junior year. The selectee is chosen by the Math Department Scholarship Committee annually at the end of the spring semester.

Professor Shapiro started his UMass Lowell teaching career in 1962 and retired from the Math Dept. in 1996. He continues on a part-time basis as an Evening Supervisor in Continuing Studies, advising students and giving exit interviews to graduating students.

His wife, Yana Shapiro, had worked in Continuing Studies from 1975 until her retirement in 1996 and continues working there on a part-time basis.

The Arthur S. Zamanakos Endowed Scholarship Fund

The Arthur Zamanakos Scholarships are awarded to students selected by the University of Massachusetts Lowell Department of Mathematics Scholarship Committee. The Committee will award scholarships as follows:

  • At least twice each academic year,
  • in the amount of $3000,
  • to students who are enrolled in the mathematics program at the University of Massachusetts Lowell,
  • who are at the Junior or Senior level in their degree program at the University,
  • and who maintain an academic record indicating a 3.0 grade point average or higher and are in good academic standing.

Mary Hall Scholarship Fund

The Hall Fund was established to perpetuate the spirit of the late Professor Mary Hall. Book awards are made to students who excel in the calculus sequence.