Skip to Main Content

College of Management Recognizes This Year’s Best and Brightest

Honor Society Inducts New Members at Event Featuring Prominent Alumna

Kathryn Carter posing with a female Beta Gemma Sigma inductee member.
Anu Mullikin '88 and Dean Kathryn Carter


The UMass Lowell chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society recognizing business excellence, recently inducted 33 new members from  his year’s group of outstanding students in the College of Management.

The ceremony, held at the UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center for the first time, also welcomed a distinguished alumna back to campus. Anu Mullikin ’88, who studied accounting in the College of Management and is a Beta Gamma Sigma member, served as the event’s keynote speaker. After graduating summa cum laude from UMass Lowell, Mullikin received her law degree from Boston University School of Law in 1991, where she also earned a master’s degree in taxation in 1996. Mullikin is an attorney who serves as chair of the Trusts and Estates Practice Group of Devine, Millimet and Branch, which is headquartered in Manchester and has offices around New Hampshire and in Andover, Mass.

For Mullikin, the invitation to speak to this year’s group of inductees was an opportunity to return to UMass Lowell for the first time in many years.

“It’s been a really long time since I came back to UMass Lowell,” said Mullikin, who reconnected with the University after an item about one of her professional achievements appeared in a recent issue of the UMass Lowell alumni magazine, prompting other fellow alumni to contact her. She noted during her speech that the campus, known then as the University of Lowell, was much different when she was a student, adding that she is glad to see that today’s students have a more vibrant campus life and that the University includes new facilities such as the Inn & Conference Center.

Mullikin ߝ the daughter of Suresh Mathur, a former physics professor and assistant to the vice chancellor for administration and finance whose University career spanned 1967 to 1996 ߝ told the inductees that when they are preparing to leave school upon their graduation, they will face choices about their next step, as she did.

“In my senior year of college, I had to make a decision about what I had to do next. I had always known in my heart I wanted to be a lawyer,” said Mullikin, who is included  in “Best Lawyers in America 2010” specializes in estate planning, working with individuals, families, business owners and others in areas including business succession and planned giving to charities.

In addition to her law practice, Mullikin serves on the board of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation and is a fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel; she is also a past president of the New Hampshire Estate Planning Council. She has been recognized for her legal work by Business NH magazine, New Hampshire Magazine and NH Business Review.

Although her career path did not include becoming an accountant, Mullikin said her bachelor’s degree from UMass Lowell has served her well in her role as partner and shareholder in one of New Hampshire’s most prominent law firms.

“This is the place where I started and it gave me the stepping stone to get to where I am now in my career,” she said. “If nothing else, keep your connection to your school.”

Mullikin praised the inductees for their hard work: “You should all be very proud of yourselves. You have worked very hard to get to where you are. Congratulations and good luck!”

College of Management Dean Kathryn Carter also congratulated the inductees. 

“The faculty and staff are so thrilled with your performance,” Carter told the students, adding that the students’ families and friends should also be applauded. “Excellence is a team effort and you folks have done an excellent job of being team players.”

Chapter vice presidents Frank Stegnar, Min Deng and Benjamin Rogan led the induction ceremony, which included a pledge by the students to meet the high professional and personal ideals of Beta Gamma Sigma. Assistant Prof. Saira Latif, chapter president, presented students with certificates denoting their membership as well as gold medallions to wear with their caps and gowns at Commencement.

Both graduate and undergraduate students were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma. Master’s inductees were: Scott Donnelly, Ziad Elghazzawi, Mujtaba Istihad, Meghan Keith, Peter Massa, Moses Njogu, Dixit Patel, Sarah Pendlebury Jeyasakthivel Ramasamy, Glenn Rowe, Vani Velusamy and Jingqui Wang. Senior inductees were Danny Antigua, Sharon Bemis, Adam Bruderer, Daniel Commellas, Donna Corbin, Chayenne Espinal, Thomas Genatossio, Timothy Grady, David Hegarty, Anne Jackson, Han Le, Guang Li, Desiree Margeson, Dawn-Marie Martinkus, Gerald Mohan, Patrick O’Connell, John Reilly, Lisa Swallow, Nicholas Tamvaklis, Gena Tha, Girbaud Tibodeau and Lili Xu. Junior inductees were Amy Carbon, Timothy Casaletto, Angela Jacobs, James McCarthy and Andrew Mendonca.

 A huge group of Beta Gamma Sigma members posing at one of their big events.
The 2010 Beta Gamma Sigma inductees