Skip to Main Content

Malloy Named Educator of Year

Prof Recognized by Society of Plastics Engineers

Robert Malloy

By For more information, contact or 978-934-3224


The Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE), a technical/professional organization with nearly 20,000 members and about 125 university chapters in more than 70 countries, has named Prof. Robert Malloy as its Educator of the Year for 2009. The SPE annually recognizes excellence in the plastics industry by honoring the efforts of individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the field.

Malloy, who chairs the Plastics Engineering Department, joins four other UMass Lowell plastics faculty who had been honored this way: Profs. Russell W. Ehlers (1976), Rudolph D. Deanin (1985), Stephen A. Orroth, Jr. (1995) and Stephen Burke Driscoll (2004). 

“I am very proud to have been selected as this year’s recipient of the SPE education award,” says Malloy. “I feel like I am in pretty good company as I look at the list of recipients. I am pleased that our Plastics Engineering program continues to be a nationally recognized leader in the areas of plastics education and research, and this award will help in that respect.”

The award, which consists of a plaque and $2,500 honorarium, will be presented on June 22 during the joint SPE and National Plastics Exposition Hall of Fame induction and banquet in Chicago.