Skip to Main Content

Prof. Doyle Wins Blood Banks’ Tiegerman Award

Honor Recognizes Work in Transfusion Medicine

Kay Doyle

By For more information, contact or 978-934-3224

Prof. Kay Doyle, chair of the Department of Clinical Laboratory and Nutritional Sciences, received the Karen Tiegerman Memorial Award at the 35th annual meeting of the Massachusetts Association of Blood Banks in April.

Doyle was recognized for her contributions to Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking in the Commonwealth. At the meeting, held in Westford, she also gave a presentation on “The History of Transfusion Medicine.”

The Association grants only three awards each year, and the participation of Boston area medical schools, university-based hospitals and other institutions make the competition intense.

In addition to chairing the Clinical Laboratory Department, Doyle is director of the University’s Medical Technology program. She also is a member of the board of governors of the American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Registry in Chicago, where she also serves as chair of the Research and Development committee. She was appointed recently to the Society’s Research and Development Institute.