Skip to Main Content

Best and Brightest Recognized at Annual Gala


University Honors Past and Present Students, Faculty, Community Members

LOWELL, Mass. ߞ; The University of Massachusetts Lowell honored alumni, faculty, staff and members of the community at the annual Francis Cabot Lowell Awards and Honors Fellows Gala on Nov. 18 at the UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center.

Approximately 200 people attended the event, proceeds from which help support the UMass Lowell Honors Program, which promotes the educational and professional growth of motivated and academically talented students.

The Francis Cabot Lowell Awards and Honors Fellowships are given each year to alumni, faculty, staff and local residents who honor the values of both the university and the city of Lowell.

This year’s honorees were:

  • Francis Cabot Lowell Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement in Business ߝ Gerald G. Colella ’78 of Seabrook, N.H., vice president and chief operating officer of Andover-based MKS Instruments Inc.;
  • Community Honors Fellow ߝ Henry Ferrini of Gloucester, independent filmmaker whose works include “Lowell Blues,” which depicts the influence the city had on Beat Generation icon Jack Kerouac;
  • Francis Cabot Lowell Young Alumni Award ߝ Sean P. Garballey ’07 of Arlington, a Massachusetts state representative;
  • Francis Cabot Lowell Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement in Business ߝ Eamonn P. Hobbs ’80 of New York, president and CEO of New York-based Delcath Systems Inc.;
  • Honors Fellow for the College of Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Services ߝ Anne Mulvey of Newburyport, UMass Lowell professor of psychology;
  • Francis Cabot Lowell Alumni Award for Service to the University ߝ Susan Pasquale ’75 of Boylston, director of curriculum and faculty development in the Office of Medical Education at UMass Medical School;
  • Honors Fellow for the School of Health and Environment ߝ David Wegman of Auburndale, a professor emeritus who helped form the School of Health and Environment and previously served as its dean.

Twelve students in the UMass Lowell Honors Program were presented with Honors Fellowship Scholarships at the event:

  • Daniel Dacey of Merrimac, a sophomore majoring in clinical lab sciences;
  • Ryan Hart of Raynham, a freshman majoring in electrical engineering and physics;
  • Peter Jones of Medford, a plastics engineering major;
  • Tinuviel Lathrop of Lowell, a sophomore majoring in legal studies and political science;
  • Cassandra Lowney of Fall River, a junior majoring in music education; 
  • Victoria Maroon of Methuen, a freshman majoring in chemical engineering;
  • Bianca Melo of Peabody, a junior majoring in biological studies and community health;
  • Cassandra Robeson of Stoneham, a sophomore majoring in graphic design;
  • Ruchika Shah of Burlington, a sophomore majoring in nursing;
  • Shalini Shah of Dracut, a freshman majoring in biology;
  • Snehkumar Shah of Burlington, a sophomore majoring in civil and environmental engineering;
  • Kristina Smith of Salisbury, a junior majoring in English literature.

UMass Lowell, with a national reputation in science, engineering and technology, is committed to educating students for lifelong success in a diverse world and conducting research and outreach activities that sustain the economic, environmental and social health of the region. The university offers its 14,000 students more than 120 degree choices, internships, five-year combined bachelor’s to master’s programs and doctoral studies in the colleges of Arts, Sciences, Engineering and Management, the School of Health and Environment, and the Graduate School of Education. .

For more information, contact or 978-934-3224