Skip to Main Content

UML’s Prof. Doyle Wins Blood Banks’ Tiegerman Memorial Award


Honor Recognizes Work in Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking

LOWELL ߝ Prof. Kay Doyle, chair of UMass Lowell’s Department of Clinical Laboratory and Nutritional Sciences, recently received the Karen Tiegerman Memorial Award at the 35th annual meeting of the Massachusetts Association of Blood Banks.

Doyle was recognized for her contributions to Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking in the Commonwealth. At the meeting, held in Westford, she also gave a presentation on “The History of Transfusion Medicine.”

The Association grants only three awards each year, and the participation of Boston area medical schools, university-based hospitals and other institutions make the competition intense.

In addition to chairing the Clinical Laboratory Department, Doyle is director of the University’s Medical Technology program. She also is a member of the board of governors of the American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Registry in Chicago, where she also serves as chair of the Research and Development committee. She was appointed recently to the Society’s Research and Development Institute.

UMass Lowell, a comprehensive university with a national reputation in science, engineering and technology, is committed to educating students for lifelong success in a diverse world and conducting research and outreach activities that sustain the economic, environmental and social health of the region.

UML offers its 11,000 students more than 120 degree choices, internships, five-year combined bachelor’s to master’s programs and doctoral studies in the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Engineering and Management, the School of Health and Environment, and the Graduate School of Education.

For more information, contact or 978-934-3224