Skip to Main Content

UMass Lowell to Present Awards for Service and Achievement


LOWELL- The Alumni Relations Council at UMass Lowell will present the 2004 Francis Cabot Lowell Awards and the Athletic Hall of Fame Awards during a dinner celebration this Saturday, Nov. 6.

This year's recipients include State Sen. Steven C. Panagiotakos; alumna Bonnie Comley, a three-time Tony Award winner; alumnus L.Donald LaTorre, chairman of the National Engineering Advisory Board at Mercer University; Sheila Riley-Callahan, director of the UMass Lowell Centers for Learning; alumnus William Traynor, executive director of Lawrence CommunityWorks Inc.; Dr. May Futrell, chair of the Nursing Department; Dr. Jon Hellstedt, professor of psychology; and members of the 1988 UMass Lowell Men's Basketball Team.

            The evening will begin at 6 p.m., with the award presentations expected to begin about 8 p.m. at the American Textile History Museum, 491 Dutton St.

       The Francis Cabot Lowell Awards honor alumni, faculty, staff and friends who have provided distinguished service to their profession, their community and/or the University. The Athletic Hall of Fame Awards recognize individuals or groups who have achieved an extraordinary level of athletic success while representing the University. At Saturday's event, each honoree will be introduced by someone whose life they have influenced, as the theme for the evening is Making an Impact.

*Editor's Note: Photos available upon request

For more information, contact or 978-934-3224