Skip to Main Content

Independent Alumni of Lowell gives $125G in grants

By From the Lowell Sun

CHELMSFORD -- The Independent University Alumni Association at Lowell this past week awarded $125,000 in scholarships and grants to students at UMass Lowell during an awards banquet at Princeton Station.

Following are the recipients.

New England Textile Fund: Ryan Bean, Justin Chin, David Cloutier, Emile Dagher, Jackson Eno Jr., Nathan Paul Ferand, Henry Jamijian, Matthew P. Kapala, Amy Musgrave, Janelle Parechanian, Craig Poirier, Hadi Sutrisno.

Barnett D. Gordon: Daniel Rossetti, Brian Soper.

Marion Caldwell Irvine: Greg Celata, Katelyn Mello.

Joseph Kaplan Fund: Claudia Combs, Naji Dagher, Tiffany Dodd, Patrick Donovan, Keri A. Freeman, Ashlie Gannon, Gardy Jean Laurent, Corey Levesque, Jeffrey Moreau, Erin Reed.

Alumni: Melanie Borodawka, Valerie Bourassa, Amanda Callahan, Catherine Callery, Sefora Castrello, Jennifer Cole, Dean Frechette, Lindsey Gianis, Kristen Graham, Roger Ledoux, James Levasseur, Eleni Liakakis, Jessica Lutz, Marc O'Regan, Parikshit Somani, Jessica Toscano, Kevin Wise.

Jacob Ziskind Freshman: David J. Baglio, Alexander Weinhold.

Jacob Ziskind Upperclass: Jane Azzi, Anthony B. Beatrice, Andrew Doherty, Jennifer A. Florence, Bong Gon Kim, Emily Makrez, Kristina M. Martell, Michelle McCrady, Miroslava Raspopovic, Amanda Saba, Julianne Sheehy, Laura Beth Tempia.

Gehring Memorial: Candace Balbo, Deirdre Mary Conole, Jeffrey Destino, Joseph M. DeWitt, Erin Hudd, Katrina Lutkus, Joseph R. Nickerson, Rebecca Niddrie, Pierrette Nyante, Nathan Schneider, Eugenia Yau-Poon.

Sylvan Strook Memorial: Charlene Aalerud.

ULowell Boookstore: Nicole M. Gargano, Alisen Grenham, Mark Hutchings, Lauren Jones, Sarah Merullo, Hoi Yan Joyce Pang, Josh Vance.

Elmer C. Matthews: Myriam Claudio, Erik Dunkerley, Georges Enow, Jennifer Murabito, Erin Shepardson.

George G. Armstrong Jr.: Matthew Mannarino.

Mark Jonathan Elliot: Daniel Murphy.

The Haartz Corporation: Rina Ordonez.

The association also gave its Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dr. Robert S. Smith.

Smith graduated from Lowell Technological Institute in 1961. He was born and raised within a mile of the university. As a child, he was always interested in learning how things worked and had a particular interest in automotive mechanics. He graduated from LTI's first class of mechanical engineers.

He then began work at the Army Quartermaster Research and Development Center in Natick as a junior engineer. Within a year, he was promoted to project engineer, where he developed a new titanium alloy combat helmet, recognized as a significant accomplishment by the American Society of Metals. He was also responsible for the development of a variety of ballistic protective devices utilized by the Army aircrews fighting in Vietnam.

He then became the youngest laboratory director in the history of the Army Natick Laboratories at the age of 40. He finished his Army career as the director of engineering responsible for all engineering development and product improvement programs ongoing at the Natick Laboratories and retired at the age of 48.

During his Army career, he authored more than 60 technical publications and was an invited speaker at several national conferences and symposiums.

He also went on to earn an MS in Mechanical Engineering while attending Northeastern University's evening program, then a Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering from UMass Amherst in 1975.

Upon retirement, Smith became the operations manager for GEO-CENTERS Inc., performing research in support of R&D programs at the Army Natick Laboratories. He currently serves as division manager of the Science Applications International Corp., Natick Operations.

Dr. Smith has two children and five grandchildren. He lives in Lancaster. He served on the Hudson Conservation Commission for four years and on the Minuteman Technical High School Committee in Lexington for eight years.