Skip to Main Content

UMass honors local scholars

By Used with permission from the Eagle Tribune Online. By Ethan Forman Eagle-Tribune Writer

LOWELL -- Recent graduates and students were honored with awards for their study at the University of Massachusetts Lowell: Hee-Joon Ahn of Dracut, outstanding graduate student in polymer science award; Ellen Anderson of Londonderry, N.H., master's in clinical laboratory services, dean's award; Jill F. Asimakopoulos of Dracut, bachelor's in modern language, academic excellence award; Samip Banker of Dracut, bachelor's in computer science, academic excellence award; Aron Bellorado of Andover, bachelor's in electrical engineering;

chancellor's medal for distinguished academic achievement and the Professor James E. Powers award for high academic achievement; Sarah Currie of Georgetown, the exercise physiology clinical excellence award; Catherine Debrocke of Haverhill, bachelor's in fine arts; chancellor's medal for distinguished academic achievement and distinguished academic achievement award; Briana Druyon of Amesbury, bachelor's in computer science, the chancellor's medal for student service, the outstanding departmental service award, and the academic excellence award; Someris Duran of Lawrence, bachelor's in health education, community health internship award; Melissa Juchniewicz of Merrimac, graduate school of education's outstanding graduate student award; Joanne Melkonian of Dracut, outstanding graduate student award in clinical laboratory sciences; Joseph Polino of North Reading, a senior computer science major, the OHIO Design Automation Scholarship, a merit-based, corporate-sponsored award. OHIO Design Automation Inc. is based in Nashua, N.H.; David Rappoli of Dracut, biological sciences department's outstanding graduate student award; Donna Russell of Haverhill, bachelor's in political science, outstanding academic achievement award; Erin Sheehan of Dracut, master's in economics, outstanding academic achievement award; Kathryn Sprance of Methuen, bachelor's in philosophy and academic excellence award; Thomas Tanin of Andover, a senior computer science major. He won the Compaq Computer Scholarship, a merit-based, corporate sponsored award; graduate Kristin Taylor, master's in nursing, received the $1,000 May Futrell scholarship awarded to outstanding nursing graduate students; Yan K. Tran of Dracut, bachelor's in computer science, academic excellence award and an outstanding departmental service award; Mariel Tejada of Lawrence, bachelor's in English, outstanding academic achievement award; and Christopher Woodard of Methuen, bachelor's in computer science, outstanding departmental science award.