Skip to Main Content

FAHSS Creative Venture

Creative Venture Competition

This competition has ended for 2018. Please check back in Sept. 2019.

The FAHSS Creative Venture Competition (CVC) is sponsored by the College of Fine Arts Humanities and Social Sciences and The DifferenceMaker® Program. To learn more, follow these links:

 The Competition

The Creative Venture Competition seeks to support UMass Lowell students as they begin to explore and pursue entrepreneurial career opportunities, as well as leverage and highlight the entrepreneurial spirit and creative abilities of UMass Lowell students. The goal of the competition is to encourage creativity and to promote the process of thinking from concept to delivery required to plan and launch a potential program, product or service.

CVC seeks to support UMass Lowell students as they begin to explore and pursue entrepreneurial career opportunities. According to a National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE) of leading employers the top five skills hiring managers (from places like Chevron, IBM and Seagate) look for in a recent college graduate are:

  • Ability to work in a team structure
  • Ability to solve problems and make decisions
  • Ability to communicate verbally within your team and to external audiences
  • Ability to plan and organize
  • Ability to process information

CVC is going to help students enhance these skill sets to better prepare them for a competitive job market. The program will help them prepare to start their own venture. CVC will help students solve problems. Whether they start their own company or seek a job with a strong employer, the competition will help them succeed.

Not everyone will win but everyone participating in CVC will learn.

If you have creative ideas for a viable product, service or program capable of delivering a tangible social benefit or launching a new business venture, please consider forming a student team; develop a proposal and enter the Competition.


  • The FAHSS CVC is open to students (graduate or undergraduate) from across the University consisting of two or more individuals with one individual being a student within FAHSS.
  • Students are encouraged to form interdisciplinary teams, meaning students from different majors can work together as a team in developing the Proposal, so students from other Colleges at the University may be on the submitting team of students. However, FAHSS students must take a substantial role in developing, presenting and implementing the Proposal.

 More Information

Application and Executive Summary


  • 1st place team $5,000 scholarship award

 Important Dates

  • Registration Opens - September 24, 2018
  • EXTENDED Registration Deadline - October 26, 2018 at 5 p.m.
  • Mandatory Workshop for Semi-finalist Teams - November 3, 2018 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on South Campus in the Health and Social Sciences Building, Room 140 (HSS 140) -  (please note that this workshop is mandatory and at least one representative from each prospective team must attend)
  • Executive Summary Due - November 13, 2018 at 5 p.m.
  • Final Competition Day - December 5, 2018 from 6-9 p.m. in O'Leary 222 on South Campus


  • December 5, 6-9 p.m.
  • O'Leary Library 222, South Campus
  • Finalists will present their Business or Non-Profit Enterprise plan with additional details to the same Judging Committee
  • The winners and amounts will be announced at the conclusion of the presentations in the Final Round


For more information contact the FAHSS Assistant Dean by email: Frank Talty.

 2018 Winner

  • Project Title: Benji Ball
  • Description: A Baseball training tool that will be composed of a bat and ball with the ball having multiple sides, each side showing the different outcome of an at bat. The bat has a bigger barrel since this game / training tool is designed for children and special needs kids to be able to learn the game of baseball in a fun and simplistic way. They already have the first prototype made from a manufacturer in China.
  • Team Members: Gavin Donohoe, Benjamin McEvoy and Tristan Naboicheck
  • Total Funds Awarded: $5,000

Thank you to the 2018 judges!

  • Glenn Morgan ’86, FAHSS
  • Keith Neal ’93, FAHSS