Skip to Main Content

UMass Lowell will resume on-campus instruction, research and campus life for Fall 2020. View the plan for more info.

Travel Precautions & Resources

Latest Information

Travel Bans Impacting Our Community

  • Travel outside of the U.S. for non-U.S. passport holders from the following countries is not advised (Chad, Cuba, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen).

    Travel to Cuba for U.S. citizens and permanent residents should be organized by a tour group authorized by the U.S. Treasury.

    Effective February 21, 2020, the travel ban will expand to include Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania, but the ban for these six countries will only apply to immigrants.

    Consult with an immigration attorney before any departure from the U.S. For legal resources visit our Know Your Rights webpage.

    You may also want to view other NAFSA Executive Order Resources.