Skip to Main Content

College of Engineering Commencement 2020 Awardees

Dean's Medal for Outstanding Student Service

The Dean’s Medal for Student Service recognizes students who truly stand out as leaders – those who went above and beyond in service to the college and to UMass Lowell.

  • Steven Fallon, Civil Engineering, President of the NASTT Student Chapter, Professional Development Chair for ASCE Student Chapter, and Aesthetics Leader for UML's Concrete Canoe team.
  • Jamal Husseini, Mechanical Engineering, President of the Student Alumni Ambassadors; Omicron Delta Kappa
  • Madison Merrill, Biomedical Engineering, Vice President of Student Alumni Ambassadors; Founder/President Biomedical Engineering Society; University Student Alumni Ambassador

Dean's Medal for Outstanding Community Service

The Dean’s Medal for Community Service recognizes a student who has made a significant impact on the college and its greater community. This year we are honoring Mike Johnston, Engineering Management graduate. 
Since he founded Merrimack Valley Robotics in 2016, Mike has mentored four successful First Robotics Teams, has helped to create (and sponsor) over a dozen First Lego League teams (in and around Lowell) – as well as assisted with UML Future Engineers Summer Camps and a number of FRC-sponsored Women in STEM events. Mike’s dedication has helped lay a strong foundation for a k-12 STEM pipeline with UML. 

Dean's Medal for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Based on major, the Dean’s Medal for Outstanding Academic Achievement honors students with the highest cumulative GPA over their academic career. It is the highest academic distinction for the college. 
  • Biomedical Engineering
    Herrick Fernandes
  • Biomedical and Biotechnology (BMEBT)
    Heather Murphy
    Jingcheng Zhou
  • Chemical and Nuclear Engineering
    Liam Nicholas Bingham-Maas
    Jason Michael Lutcza
    Edward van Corbach 
    Burcin Ikizer
    Odera Udochukwu Dim
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
    Kyle Carbonneau
    Susom Dutta 
    Olivia Richards
    Peter Gill
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Benjamin Fisher  
    Emi Aoki 
    Abu Nazir Hossain
    Keisuke Tomizawa  
    Shuai Yuan
  • Engineering Management
    Yucong Lu
    Kosisochukwu Otegbulu
  • Mechanical and Energy Engineering
    Willoughby Cheney
    Brett Daniels
    Kyle Foster
    Lucas Hansen
    Mohammadrasool Morovatiyan
    Martia Shahsavan 
    Jessica Ferguson
    Fernando Campos
    Sohad Abu-Elzait
    Brandon Sweet
  • Plastics Engineering
    Justin Carbone
    Thangthip Tekanil
    David Brown
    Roger Manser
    Amir Yazdani

Department Awards

Biomedical Engineering 
Excellence in Leadership: Aisling McEleney
Excellence in Service: Madison Merrill 
Excellence in Research: Michelle Nguyen
Excellence in Teaching Support:James Boucher
Chemical Engineering 
Chemical Engineering Scholarship Award: Nicholas J. Tenaglia
Biological Engineering Option Award: Andrew Olson
Nanomaterials Engineering Option Award: Keegan Sperry
Howard H. Reynolds Award: Ethan S. Bossange
Undergraduate Research Award: Colleen B. Ahern
Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Melisa Nallar
Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Edward Fratto
Graduate Research Award: Zhuangrong Huang and Mark-Henry Kamga
Nuclear Engineering Option Award: Stephanie Astudillo Gomez
Civil & Environmental Engineering 
Allan T. Gifford Award: Ruben Diaz
Outstanding Doctoral Student Award: Susom Dutta
Departmental Service Award: Kathryn Evasius 
Electrical & Computer Engineering 
Jim Powers Award: Benjamin Fisher
Carl Stevens Award: Emi Aoki and Drew Latwas
Outstanding Undergraduate Award: Bradley Pothier, Randy Camasso, Michael Walsh, Ariel Pena-Martinez,Naye Yoni, Derek DeCost, Omar Jameel, Thomas Tawadros and Eric Swanson
Jim Powers Award: Keisuke Tomizawa 
Outstanding M.S. Student Award: Eric Finnerty and Xiaoyu Zhan
Outstanding Ph.D. Student Award: Qian Wang and Xu Guo   
Mechanical & Energy Engineering 
Department Award for Academic Achievement: Alexander Frankel
Outstanding Service Award: Brian O’Neill, Casen Megna and Jamal Husseini
Outstanding Team Leadership Award: Kalima Bukenya, James Carroll and Alaina Robins
Craig Douglas Award: Kerry Hubbard, Kalima Bukenya, Samuel Munnelly and Anthony Noce
Energy Outstanding Master Student Award: Zachary Traverso
Outstanding Doctoral Student Award: Martia Shahsavan, Mahnazossadat Seyednourani and Sara Najafian
Outstanding Master Student Award: George Barlow
Plastics Engineering 
Russell Ehlers Processing Award: Courtney Mazur and Thangthip Tekanil
Henry Thomas Design Award: Taiyo Yamaguchi and Fabian Ullrich
Raymond Normandin Materials Award: Greg Reimonn and Amir Yazdani
Outstanding Teaching Assistant: Austin Colon
Department Service Award: Nathan Maynard