Skip to Main Content
Kayak instruction on the river

Instructional Programs

Kayak Instructional Programs

We offer many kayak instructional programs. Click on the links below to learn more or to register. All equipment and supplies are included unless otherwise noted.

Kids Kayaking Clinic

This week-long, day camp combines skill development and environmental education with a boat full of fun! First and foremost, kids will learn how to be safe on the water. Kids will play games on land and on water while learning about the relationship between animals and the environment. They may test water quality and go searching for turtles and birds. They will become masters of their boats learning posture, paddle strokes, rescues, and more. Kids will leave with self-confidence and lasting memories.

Appropriate for kids 10-13 years old.

Dates Cost Deadline Registration Link
Session 1 July 11, 12 & 14 $125 Register by July 1 Register Online
Session 2 July 25, 26 & 28 $125 Register by July 15 Register Online

More information about this program can be found on our Youth Program Handout (pdf).

 Teen Kayaking Clinic

For teens looking for a paddling adventure of their own, join us for four days of exploration. After a day of safety and paddling instruction on the Merrimack River, we will venture out to some of its tributaries--from the scenic Concord to the marshy Nashua River, come experience a great diversity. We will explore these areas and learn about local ecology and our environmental impact during this adventurous week.

Appropriate for teens 14 to 17 years old.

Session Dates Cost Per Teen Payment Deadline Registration Link
July 18-21, 2016 $150 Register by July 8 Register Online

More information about this program can be found on our Information Handout (pdf).

 Introduction to Kayaking

This fun program is recommended for beginner kayakers and those looking to build a solid foundation of skills. Our certified instructors will teach ACA Level 1 & 2 skills during this full day program. We will start with personal preparation, the paddling environment and equipment use. We will then move on to rescue techniques and paddle strokes with plenty of games, practice and feedback. This course begins and ends at the boathouse and may utilize one of our local rivers.

Appropriate for adults and children 14 and older when accompanied by a parent.

You must register in advance to participate.Registration fee includes kayak, paddle and life jacket (PFD) if needed and shuttle. Those who own their own kayak are encouraged to use it during this course.




Saturday, July 9, 2016
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
$75 Register Online

Saturday, August 6, 2016
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

$75
Register Online

 Kayaking Basics

This two and half hour program is designed to give participants a jump start in kayak skills emphasizing safety, recovery and basic skill development. Participants will receive an overview of on-water safety, equipment use, forward and sweep strokes and recoveries. For those with limited time, or looking to try something new, this is the program for you! Be ready to get wet! Kayak basics is offered every week on Tuesdays at 6 p.m. and Sundays at 2 p.m. Our Instructional Programs are designed for adults, but teens age 14 and older are welcome to participate with a parent.

Date Cost Registration Link




Sunday, June 12
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday June 14
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, June 19
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday June 21
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, June 26
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday June 28
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, July 3
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, July 5
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, July 10
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, July 12
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, July 17
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, July 19
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, July 24
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, July 26
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, July 31
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, August 2
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, August 7
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, August 9
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, August 14
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, August 16
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, August 21
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, August 23
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Sunday, August 28
2 - 4:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Tuesday, August 30
6 - 8:30 p.m.

$30 Register Online

 SUP BASICS

Almost a private lesson, in this small group relaxed instructional session, get an introduction to basic safety, strokes and flatwater SUP technique while basking in the evening glow of the sunset over the Merrimack river. Beginners and welcome! *Our Instructional Programs are designed for adults, but teens age 14 and older are welcome to participate with a parent.

Date Cost Registration Link



Thursday, June 16
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Wednesday, June 29
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Thursday, July 14
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Wednesday, July 27
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Thursday, Aug 11
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

Wednesday, Aug 24
7 - 9 p.m.

$30 Register Online

 Personal Instruction

Personal small group and one-on-one instruction is available. Our instructors can work with you on a specific skill or set of skills beyond what we offer in our introduction courses. Instruction is available by the hour for $20 per person per hour. Contact the program coordinator to schedule a time with a certified instructor today.

If you have questions about any of these programs contact Kevin Soleil, Assistant Director of Outdoor & Bicycle Programs at 978-934-1932 or Kevin_Soleil@uml.edu.