Hockey Records Second Largest Turnaround in NCAA Division History

Coach, Players Earn Recognition

UMass Lowell River Hawks Hockey


With 19 more wins than last year, UMass Lowell finished the 2011-12 hockey season with a 24-13-1 record, the second largest turnaround in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division history. The River Hawks earned the program’s first NCAA Tournament berth since 1996 and won the school’s third-ever NCAA Tournament game on March 23 against Miami University. However, UMass Lowell came up short against Union, 4-2, in the NCAA Tournament East Regional Championship at the Webster Bank Arena. They fell  just a game short of the school's first-ever Frozen Four. 

First-year Head Coach Norm Bazin ’94 was named the recipient of the Clark Hodder Division I Coach of the Year Award. Two players were also honored: freshman Scott Wilson  of Oakville, Ont., earned the George C. Carens Rookie of the Year Award and sophomore Doug Carr of Hanover was named one of two Division I All-Star goalies and the Paul Hines Most Improved Player Award winner. 

Bazin becomes the second coach in program history to receive the honor as two-time winner Bruce Crowder was recognized in 1993-94 and 1995-96. The team’s turnaround of 19 games was the largest by a first-year head coach.

Read more on UMass Lowell Alumnus and Head Coach Norm Bazin ’94 and UMass Lowell’s journey to the NCAA Tournament: