

University of Massachusetts Lowell
Office of the Faculty Senate
Alumni Hall, Room 101, One University Avenue
Lowell, Massachusetts 01854
Telephone: 978-934-3413

E-mail: Faculty Senate@uml.edu

Faculty Senate President: Michael V. Graves Telephone: 978-934-2887 E-mail: Michael Graves@uml.edu

Faculty Senate Administrator: Martha H. Burns Telephone: 978-934-4909 E-mail: Martha Burns@uml.edu

Faculty Senate Meeting

Minutes

March 5, 2018

3:30 PM

Presiding: Michael Graves

Attendees: Elizabeth Bobek, Clifford Bruell, Bryan Buchholz, Matteo Cimini, Timothy Cook, Mitra

Das, Ann Dean, Heidi Fantasia, Jennifer Fish, Patricia Fontaine, Michele Fox, Alice Frye, Matthew Gage, Richard Gaschnig, Ramraj Gautam, Michael Geiger, Jennifer Gorczyca, Mary Gormley, Michael Graves, Keith Hallbourg, Christopher Hansen, Guixin He, Elizabeth Herbin-Triant, Javier Horta, Andrew Hostetler, Murat Inalpolat, Wael Kamal, Whitley Kaufman, Mona Kleinberg, Margaret Knight, Nicolai Konow, David Kriebel, Jongsoo Lee, Cathy Levey, Mufeed Mahd, Sara Marks, Maria Matz, John McCarthy, Dalila Megherbi, Kimberly Merriman, Garrett Michaelsen, Arthur Mittler, Donna Mullin, Michael Myre, Charles Ormsby, Robert Parkin, Melissa Pennell, Kevin Petersen, Muhammad Quayes, Misha

Rabinovich, Rocio Rosales, Charlotte Ryan, John Shirley, Aaron Smith Walter, Peter

Tashman, Edgar Torres, Mark Tries, Susan Tripathy, Jennifer Wilber, Hengyong Yu, Xiaoqi

Zhang, Yuan Zhang

Recording: Martha Burns

The meeting commenced at 3:28 PM.

Minutes of the March 5, 2018 Faculty Senate Meeting

- A motion was made to approve the Minutes of the March 5, 2018 Faculty Senate Meeting. It was seconded and passed unanimously.

Undergraduate Policy Committee (UPC), (Professor Mittler)

- Proposal for a graduation requirement (BA in Economics) of an overall cumulative grade point average of 2.2

Art Mittler provided an overview indicating that a lot of discussion took place at the Committee level regarding this. A motion was made to accept the Proposal. It was seconded and passed unanimously.

Other Business

- Spring 2017 Faculty Senate Election Guidelines, Faculty Senator Listing with 2018 and 2019 Term Ends

Note: Martha Burns has notified all Chairpersons with current listing and necessary action.

- Facilities and Registrar's Office

Director of Campus Development, Adam Baacke provided an overview of the dynamic growth in every sector and corner of the campus. He discussed the Coburn Hall's comprehensive renovation, its accessibility challenges, instructional spaces and more. He also spoke about Olsen Hall and Pasteur Hall.

Registrar Mai Nguyen provided an overview of Registrar's Office activities. She spoke about the important of balancing schedules, historical trends, the number of classes, permission numbers and more.

The meeting adjourned at 4:28 PM.