Department of History


The History Department is pleased to offer several scholarships to History majors to help defray the cost of higher education. For additional information, please see the descriptions below, or contact the Department Chair, Prof. Joseph Lipchitz. 

One simple application form can be used to apply for all scholarships simultaneously, assuming the applicant meets the necessary criteria for each scholarship.

The O'Leary Scholarship

Named in honor of Dr. Daniel O’Leary, the former President of the Lowell State College and Chancellor of the University of Lowell, this scholarship of $1000 (variable according to the yield on the fund) is open to all full-time History undergraduate majors. The award is based on a combination of academic performance (i.e., GPA, faculty observations) and financial need (as determined by the University according to established federal financial aid formulas). Typically, one scholarship is awarded each spring to a sophomore student for use in the junior year. The scholarship is generally granted to the same student in the senior year, assuming that the student remains in good academic standing as a History major.

The Demaille Family Scholarship

The DeMaille Family Scholarship, provided through the generosity of the DeMaille Family, is awarded to students selected by the Department of History Scholarship Committee (the Committee), which is led by the Chair of the Department of History. The Committee will award scholarships as follows:

  • Once in the amount of $400 or the total yield of the Endowed Fund in that year
  • To students pursuing a baccalaureate degree in History who are in their sophomore, junior or senior years in their degree program at the University 
  • To students with an academic GPA of at least 3.0 
  • To students who are in good academic standing 
Preference for students who demonstrate financial need through established federal financial aid formulas, and to students from the City of Lowell. 

Goodwin Endowed Scholarship

The Doris Kearns Goodwin and Richard N Goodwin Endowed Scholarship is awarded to history students enrolled in the Department of History: 

  • Must be in good academic standing maintaining a GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Must demonstrate financial need through established federal financial aid formulas 

The amount of the award varies each year according to the yield from the endowment.

Zamanakos Endowed Memorial Scholarship

The Alexandria Zamanakos Endowed Memorial Scholarship, made possible through the generosity of Mr. Alexander Zamanakos in honor of his sister, is awarded to students selected by the Department of History’s Scholarship Committee (the Committee). The Committee will make awards at least once per year based on the following criteria: 

  • First preference is to students studying the discipline of ancient/classical history, with focus on Greek and Roman civilizations 
  • Second preference to students studying the discipline of history in general 

Students must be in good academic standing with an overall GPA of at least 3.0 and demonstrate financial need through established federal financial aid formulas.