Environmental and Emergency Management

Training Schedule

Laboratory safety and compliance training is required annually by EPA, MADEP, OSHA and UMass Lowell for all laboratory personnel working in UMass Lowell laboratories. All faculty, staff, graduate students, teaching assistants, research assistants, researchers and other paid employees must annually attend one (two-hour) EEM-EHS lab safety and compliance training session.

This training is offered monthly. Those whose certification will expire can attend and keep their UMass Lowell lab privileges current. It is the responsibility of the faculty member who oversees the lab to assure that all workers are EEM lab-trained and certified.

Training Schedule

Lab Safety

Location: training sessions are held in 158A, 158B University Crossing.

2014 Dates Day of Week Time
Jan. 15 Wednesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Feb. 4 Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Feb. 10 Monday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
March 7 Friday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
April 3 Thursday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
May 6 Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
June 3 Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
July 1 Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Aug. 1 Friday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Sept. 5 Friday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Sept. 10 Wednesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Oct. 6 Monday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Nov. 6 Thursday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.
Dec. 1 Monday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.; 1 - 3 p.m.

Bloodborne Pathogen/Biosafety

Meeting Place: University Crossing - room 158B

Instructor: Ruth Medina, Biosafety Officer

Important: Additional Training for groups can be requested by contacting the Biosafety Officer at ruth_medina@uml.edu or calling the EEM office at 978-934-2618.

2014 Dates Day of week Time
Jan. 23 Thursday 10 a.m; 1 p.m; 5 p.m 
Feb. 27 Thursday 10 a.m 
March 13 Thursday 10 a.m
April 10 Thursday 10 a.m
May 15 Thursday 10 a.m
June 12 Thursday 10 a.m
July 17 Thursday 10 a.m
Aug. 14 Thursday 10 a.m
Sept. 18 Thursday 10 a.m; 1 p.m; 5 p.m 
Oct. 16 Thursday 10 a.m
Nov. 20 Thursday 10 a.m
Dec. 18 Thursday 10 a.m
2015 Dates Day of week Time
Jan. 21 Wednesday 10 a.m; 1 p.m; 5 p.m 

Get directions to campus using our interactive Google campus maps.